Fees for many motor vehicle services in Idaho will increase Jan. 1.
The increased fees were approved by the 2009 Idaho Legislature to generate additional funds to maintain and restore state highways and to modernize the Division of Motor Vehicles' computer systems.
Many of the fees have not increased for more than a decade.
Effective Jan. 1, costs for a standard Idaho driver's license (Class D) will range from $15 to $55, up from the present range of $12.25 to $45. Vehicle title certificates will rise from $8 to $14. Costs for motor vehicle and driver's license records will increase from $4 to $7. State identification cards will cost $10 instead of $6.50.
All fee increases may be viewed online at the following Web locations:
Driver licensing fee changes can be viewed online at itd.idaho.gov/dmv/DriverServices/DLFees.htm
Motor vehicle fee changes can be viewed online at itd.idaho.gov/dmv/ImportantNotices.htm
Full text of the fee change legislation can be viewed at www.legislature.idaho.gov/legislation/2009/H0334.htm