ITD News
Associated Press
News Link

A look at Idaho's laws...

How Idaho rated in the Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety report and what measures could be taken to make the state's efforts even more effective:

Current highway safety laws

  • .08 percent blood alcohol concentration (BAC) law – makes it illegal for the driver to have BAC of .08 percent or higher
  • Child endangerment law – makes it an offense for a driver to be impaired with a minor riding in the car
  • Child restraint law – requires all passengers up to age 16 to be secured in a child restraint or a seat belt
  • Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) 30-50 hours – novice drivers must receive 30-50 hours of behind-the-wheel training with an adult licensed driver
  • GDL nighttime restriction – prohibits unsupervised driving between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m.
  • High BAC law – this law creates a more severe offense for impaired drivers with a BAC well over the legal maximum of .08 percent
  • Mandatory BAC test law for drivers killed – statute requires testing of any driver killed in a crash
  • Open container law – prohibits open container and consumption of alcohol in the passenger area of a motor vehicle
  • Repeat offender law – applies to impaired drivers with previous convictions, includes 1 year license suspension

Laws needed

  • Motorcycle helmet law - requiring riders of all ages to wear a helmet
  • Booster seat law - requiring proper restraint for children who no longer fit into conventional child seat and are too small for adult seat belts
  • GDL 6-month holding period provision - requiring novice drivers to be supervised by an adult licensed driver at all times and citation-free before advancing from a learner’s stage to an intermediate stage
  • GDL passenger restriction provision - limits the number of teenage passengers who ride with a teen driver without adult supervision
  • Mandatory BAC test law for survivors – requires BAC test for drivers who survive crashes involving a fatality
  • Primary enforcement seat belt law – allows law enforcement officials to ticket for not using a seat belt; no other violation need occur first to take action
  • Sobriety checkpoints law – gives law enforcement officials authority to set up checkpoints for evaluating drivers for signs of alcohol or drug impairment