OHS HomeChild Safety HomeBecome a TechnicianChild Safety Seat Check PointsChildren and AirbagsCurrent AdvertisingSafe KidsWHALE Program
Idaho’s New Child Restraint Law
Idaho Code 49-672
Most important points:
Kids 4 to 6 years old need to be in belt positioning booster seats once they’ve outgrown their child safety seats.
New law is effective on July 1, 2005.
Primary law, $60.00 fine.
As a general rule of thumb, never place a child in under 13 years of age in front of an air bag. The following are a list of guidelines to be used when selecting an appropriate child safety restraint:
Children under 1 year of age MUST be in a rear facing infant seat with/without removable bases.
Children 1 year old to 4 years (typically 20 to 40 pounds) a forward facing child safety seat is recommended with harness straps positioned on the child’s shoulders, complete with a harness chest clip positioned at the armpit level, and in the upright position (not reclined), and always in the rear seat of the vehicle.
Children ages 4 to 6 MUST be in an approved booster seat, using both lap and shoulder belts, NEVER with lap belt only. The seat should be located in the rear vehicle seat, facing forward while the lap belt is positioned across the top of child’s thigh and the shoulder belt should be centered across the shoulder and chest.
For more information on child safety seat selection and installation:
• Visit www.NHTSA.dot.gov
• Call the Office of Highway Safety at 208.334.8100
or contact your local health department:
• Panhandle Health District, Coeur d’Alene 208.667.3481
• North Central Health District, Lewiston 208.799.3100
• Southwest Health District, Caldwell 208.455.5300
• Central District Health District, Boise 208.375.5211
• South Central Health District, Twin Falls 208.734.5900
• Southeastern Health District, Pocatello 208.233.9080
• District VII Health Department, Idaho Falls 208.522.0310
For more information on booster seats visit:
• Buckel Up America