One of the most important goals for child passenger safety is to make sure that car seats and boosters meet all Federal Safety Standards. If it is determined that a car seat or booster doesn’t comply with the required safety standards, a recall may occur so that the manufacturer can fix the problem. Registering your seat makes sense because it gives the manufacturer the ability to contact you about recalls and safety notices. For more information about how to register your car seat or booster, please click here
Idaho’s Child Restraint Law
Idaho Code 49-672
Idaho’s Child Passenger Safety Law will require that all
children 6 years of age or younger be properly restrained in an
appropriate child safety restraint. This is a primary law, the
fine is $79.00. This new law replaces the language of the old
law concerning weight and age requirements of children being
transported in a motor vehicle. This law took effect July 1st, 2005.
An appropriate child restraint is a child safety seat for children up to 40 lbs and a belt- positioning booster seat for children 6 years or younger. Lap-belt only seating positions should not be used with a booster seat.
New Car Seat Recommendations for Children of all ages
Select a car seat based on your child's age, height, and weight.
Click here to find the right car seat for your
Keep your child in the car seat for as long as possible, as long as your child fits the seat's height and weight requirements.
Follow your car seat manufacturer’s instruction and your vehicle owner’s manual on how to install.
GET HELP – Certified technicians are available to check your car seat installation for free. Click
HERE to find your nearest inspection station.
Car Seat Recommendations for Children –
Recomendaciones de seguridad para el nino pasajero -
The WHALE program
"We Have A Little Emergency" -
identification card gives emergency personnel information to identify young children in the event of a crash. Rescue workers can refer to an identification card attached to the child safety seat and find the child's name, medical information and whom to contact in the event of an emergency.
To learn more, click here
The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia Flash demo
Partners for Child Passenger Safety
The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia and State Farm Insurance
has joined forces to conduct the nations largest child-specific
surveillance study. To see the results of this research see the
effects of an improper restrained child video
Child Passenger Safety Laws
If you happen to be travelling in other states, please be
aware that other state laws differ from Idaho’s. All 50 states, the
District of Columbia, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands and the
Virgin Islands require child safety seats for infants and children
fitting specific criteria. Click
here for a link to other states’ laws pertaining to child
Child Safety Seat Ratings
The purpose of NHTSA’s ease of use
rating program is to educate parents and caregivers about child
safety seat features and which are easy to use click
According to NHTSA and car seat manufacturers, far too few
are seats are registered, exposing children to heightened risk in
the event of a recall. Registration is quick, free and the website
is readily accessible.
here to register your car seat or booster.
Child Safety Check Sites
It is important to read and clearly understand all safety and booster seat installation and use instructions. Having your child safety seat initially inspected and re-inspected often by a trained professional increases your
child's chances of escaping injury in the event of a car crash. To locate
a safety seat check site in your area,
Used Child Safety Seats
Don’t buy or sell used car seats. Although it is nice to share and
reuse baby items, car seats are one product that shouldn’t be
reused. The components used in the typical car seat deteriorate and
weaken over time. Car seats have an expiration date stamped on the
back of the seat; the expiration date is typically six years from
the seat’s manufacture date. If you are ready to retire a seat,
click here, for tips. This article provided courtesy of
*Consumer Reports is published by Consumers
Union. Both Consumer Reports and Consumers Union are not-for-profit
organizations that accept no advertising. Neither has any commercial
relationship with any advertiser or sponsor on this site.