DMV HomeOn-Line ServicesNew to Idaho?Driver ServicesVehicle ServicesMotor Carrier Services / Ports of EntryDriver Licensing OfficesVehicle Licensing OfficesOther State DMV LinksInformation for Idaho Military PersonnelManualsLinksRecent LegislationIdaho Motor Vehicle LawsAdmin. RulesVoter RegistrationDMV Historytrucking.idaho.govContact Us
Recent Legislation affecting Motor Vehicles
Motor Vehicle Related Legislation
Statement of Purpose
|H389||Transportation - Vehicles - Cleanup Bill
||This clean-up bill will amend current pieces of statute in Title 49, and Title 67 where changes are
needed in aligning statute with current and future practices, and moving the department forward
with the modernization of DMV systems. As business processes are reviewed, there have been
items identified that could be easily fixed in code to allow the department to be more efficient and
improve customer service, by doing away with unnecessary steps.|
This bill will allow the department to alleviate inconsistencies in some areas, and make processes
easier for the customer and our county agents. Changes in this proposal also fix codes that were
affected by previous legislation that were not addressed or recognized at the time the bills passed.
This bill eliminates some fees as a result of legislation, and clarifies fees to be charged for late title
filing for in-between owners who fail to title, and which ITD has to locate to record the appropriate
chain of ownership, and collect sales tax.
Amend registration code to integrate 2013 legislation that allows plate holders of a special program
that has been cancelled to retain their plate and renew their registration up until the 7 year life of the
plate. Eliminate a fee that is no longer being charged due to re-evaluation of a process for allowing
the opportunity to retain current plate number when plate is due to be replaced.
Clarify what boats (vessels) must be titled under Title 49, Chapter 5, and Title 67, Chapter 70, and
clarify the definition of an all-terrain vehicle, Title 67, Chapter 71 (based on approval of IDPR)
|H403||Special License Plates ||This amendment to the Idaho Code establishes a special license plate that will support the 4-H
Program in the State of Idaho. This program will provide a special plate option for people who wish
to proudly note their association with 4-H Clubs in Idaho and help the historical youth education
club thrive. The plate will feature the 4-H clover logo. The monies from this plate will be managed
by the University of Idaho Foundation, Friends of 4-H Division. They shall be used across the
state by the division for 4-H programs, educational events, training materials for youth and leaders
including some STEM based programming being integrated into curriculum offerings to better
prepare Idaho youth for future careers. 4-H will receive $22.00 for the initial issuance of each
plate, and $12.00 for each succeeding annual registration. Monies will be used to support this
youth program through-out the State of Idaho.|
|H404||Ignition Interlock For Repeat Offenders||This legislation defines the term 'repeat offender' and will enhance safety by applying consistency
as to timing and length requirements when an ignition interlock device is ordered for repeat
driving under the influence (DUI) offenders. These changes also allow repeat DUI offenders
the opportunity to be productive by continuing the ability to transport themselves to places of
employment and treatment programs under a restricted driver’s license program.|
|H461||Sobriety and Drug Monitoring Program||This legislation creates in Idaho Code a voluntary, statewide 24/7 Sobriety and Drug Monitoring
Program to be administered by the Attorney General. The Attorney General is granted rulemaking
authority to administer the 24/7 Program. Each county may opt in to the program through its local
sheriff or designee of the sheriff. Offenders that have committed crimes with a nexus to drug and
/or alcohol abuse (DUI, domestic violence, etc.) may participate in the program as a condition of
bond, sentence probation parole or work permit. Offenders required to abstain from alcohol will
appear for breath alcohol testing twice per day at a central location, usually between 7 AM and 9
AM, and again between 7 PM and 9 PM. If the offender fails the breath test or does not appear for
testing, he or she is arrested as soon as possible and is taken to jail until he or she is able appear
before a judge for further sanction determination. 24/7 is an offender-pay program requiring the
cost of testing to be paid at the time of each test.|
|H491||Snowmobiles||The purpose of this act is to amend the definition of a snowmobile from under 1,000 lb. to under
2,000 lb. and to give the counties the option to allow all-terrain vehicles and snowmobiles over
1,000 lb. to operate on groomed snowmobile trails.|
|S1201||Motor Vehicle Registration||Amends existing law to remove a provision relating to contributions to the Organ Donation Contribution Fund.|
|S1304||Driver Permits, Testing - Customer Service Enhancements||The purpose of this legislation is to make minor changes to documentation requirements and testing
for driver licensing to improve customer service.|
|S1305||DL Tank Vehicle Endorsement and Tank vehicle Definition Change||The primary purpose of this legislation is to change the definition of the tank endorsement
and clarify the tank vehicle definition. Legislation is needed to assure compliance with federal
regulations: (Docket: FMCSA-2007-27659 Commercial Driver's License Testing and Commercial
Learner's Permit Standards and as amended by FR Docket 2013-06760 on March 25, 2013.)|
|S1339||License Plates||This legislation aims to modify existing legislation and allow those qualified to purchase the Idaho
Purple Heart License Plate and also eligible for the disability placard to purchase a plate with both
options for cars and motorcycles.|
Motor Vehicle Related Administrative Rule Changes
Statement of Purpose
|39.03.15||Rules Governing Excess Weight Permits for Reducible Loads||Adds travel requirements for excess weight permits on non-interstate highways. It also clarifies:|
• The allowable weight limits on each highway.
• The types of permits required for travel on each highway.
• That ITD’s excess weight permit requirements apply to all reducible loads.
|39.03.22-1301||Rules Governing Permits for Extra Length, Excess Weight and Up to 129,000 Pound Vehicle Combinations|| Implements the provisions of SB1064, and clarifies:|
• The vehicle combinations governed under this rule.
• That weight between 105,500 pounds and 129,000 pounds will only be
allowed on non-interstate routes.
• The operating requirements on designated routes authorized up to 129,000
pounds. (These are operational requirements for current 129,000 pound routes.)
|39.03.23 ||Rules Governing Revocation of Overlegal
||Specifies the revocation process and the permit violations that will result in the revocation of an overlegal permit.|
|39.03.22-1302||Rules Governing Permits for Extra Length, Excess Weight and Up to 129,000 Pound Vehicle Combinations||Implements the provisions and adds the process for authorizing additional routes for permitted vehicle combinations operating up to 129,000 pounds.
The Idaho Transportation Department (ITD) will review/analyze all requests to add additional non-interstate state maintained routes allowing vehicle combinations to operate at Up to 129,000 lbs in conjunction with the ITD Board and Board Sub-committee who will reject or proceed with the proposed route request.